

COMMUNICATION TO STAKEHOLDERS

Issue No.: HPA03-2022/23

11 November 2022

Request for Priority Review of New Medicines and only Type II Variation Applications

Document History

First Publication – Version 1	February 2022
Second Publication – Version 2	November 2022

1. INTRODUCTION

SAHPRA has a policy to make provision for priority review, for the assessment and registration of medicines that treat serious diseases and is of major public interest.

This policy is intended to provide priority review to facilitate greater accessibility and availability of medicines. The following criteria will be considered for priority review of medicines:

- That address an unmet clinical need in the South African Market (Novel/ Innovative medicines/ NCEs);
- That show a major therapeutic advantage in safety or efficacy to existing treatment options;
- For life threatening or seriously debilitating conditions;
- For Public health and animal health emergency;
- For a limited target disease for a patient population (Orphan disease);
- In the event of national priorities guided by the National Department of Health (NDoH) or

Chairperson: Prof Helen Rees • Vice-Chairperson: Dr Obakeng Khaole • Prof Joyce Tsoka-Gwegweni Prof Patrick Demana • Dr Xolani Khayelihle Ngobese • Adv Hasina Cassim • Ms Ditaba Lucy Maraka Mr Itani Elias Mashau • Ms Lerato Mothae • Mr Norman Baloyi • Dr Afred Kgasi • Prof Johanna Meyer • Ms Mandisa Skhosana • Prof Yahya Choonara • Dr Zinhle Makatini



• Where security of supplies is a concern (guided by NDoH needs) and Department of Agriculture.

This policy applies to New Chemical Entities (NCE's), New Biological medicines, interchangeable multisource (generic) medicines and Biosimilars for both new registrations and their lifecycle management.

2. Priority Review Pathway

The **Priority Review Pathway** makes provision for a truncated time frame of assessment and registration of vital and life-saving medicines, of which there is an unmet medical need in the South African market. This is performed by priority assessment of a complete dossier that provides evidence of maintaining the required high standards of quality, safety and efficacy as determined by the Act.

The *Priority Review Pathway* may be used in the following cases:

a new prescription medicine which contains:

- a chemical, biological or radiopharmaceutical active ingredient that has not previously been included in the Register; or
- a fixed combination of chemical, biological or radiopharmaceutical active ingredients, at least one of which has not previously been included in the Register.

an already registered prescription medicine with a new indication that contains:

- the same chemical, biological or radiopharmaceutical active ingredient (or fixed combination of such ingredients) as another prescription medicine included in the Register; and
- does not have the same indications as that other medicine.

an interchangeable multi-source (generic) medicine or biosimilar medicine meeting one or more of the criteria in point 1 above.

3. Priority Review Process

Applicants are required to make a submission requesting priority review application via the designated email – <u>priorityrequestnewmeds@sahpra.org.za</u> and <u>priorityrequestsvariations@sahpra.org.za</u>

The following documentation should be submitted when requesting for priority review:

- a formal request letter with a motivation for the priority review.
- The motivation for the priority review should clearly indicate which criteria/ requirements are met as stated in (1) and (2) above and should be clearly explained.

The documentation will be screened to ensure that the correct criteria/ requirements have been used in the motivation. If the motivation does not include the criteria/ requirements as stated in (1) and (2) above, the priority review request will not be considered.

Chairperson: Prof Helen Rees • Vice-Chairperson: Dr Obakeng Khaole • Prof Joyce Tsoka-Gwegweni Prof Patrick Demana • Dr Xolani Khayelihle Ngobese • Adv Hasina Cassim • Ms Ditaba Lucy Maraka Mr Itani Elias Mashau • Ms Lerato Mothae • Mr Norman Baloyi • Dr Afred Kgasi • Prof Johanna Meyer • Ms Mandisa Skhosana • Prof Yahya Choonara • Dr Zinhle Makatini CEO: Dr Boitumelo Semete-Makokotlela



Type I variation applications **will not** be considered for priority review due to the short timelines for implementation.

4. Priority Review Committee Meeting

Requests for priority review will be discussed by an internal special committee.

- For a positive outcome, a response letter will be issued with a priority number
 - The priority number should be included in all correspondence and in the file naming convention for the application.
- For a negative outcome, a non-approval letter will be issued.
- Outcome letters will be communicated to the applicants once the minutes for the previous meeting have been ratified.

Once approval is granted for priority review requests where the application has not been submitted to SAHPRA, the application should be submitted within thirty (30) working days of receipt of the letter.

5. Fees for Priority Review

SAHPRA intends on charging a fee for applications to be prioritised.

The appropriate fees for prioritised review will be gazetted.

The communication with updated information regarding the fees will be communicated in due course.

6. Timelines

The following regarding to the relevant timelines refers:

- the timelines refer to time spent with SAHPRA (i.e exclude time spent with the applicant)
- the timelines indicate the review timelines from date of receipt of a complete application
- the timelines do not include time spent when a site inspection is required by SAHPRA
- timelines do not apply for rolling review applications

Chairperson: Prof Helen Rees • Vice-Chairperson: Dr Obakeng Khaole • Prof Joyce Tsoka-Gwegweni Prof Patrick Demana • Dr Xolani Khayelihle Ngobese • Adv Hasina Cassim • Ms Ditaba Lucy Maraka Mr Itani Elias Mashau • Ms Lerato Mothae • Mr Norman Baloyi • Dr Afred Kgasi • Prof Johanna Meyer • Ms Mandisa Skhosana • Prof Yahya Choonara • Dr Zinhle Makatini CEO: Dr Boitumelo Semete-Makokotlela



SAHPRA Head Office Building A Loftus Park 2rd Floor Kirkness Road Arcadia 0083

	Туре	Review Timeline/ Working Days
Variations	Post-Reg Quality Type II	90
	Post-Reg Biologicals Type II	90
	Post-Reg Clinical Type II	90
New Medicines	Public Health Emergency (PHE) products	90
	Priority New Chemical Entities (NCEs)	180
	Priority Generic medicines	180

Chairperson: Prof Helen Rees • Vice-Chairperson: Dr Obakeng Khaole • Prof Joyce Tsoka-Gwegweni Prof Patrick Demana • Dr Xolani Khayelihle Ngobese • Adv Hasina Cassim • Ms Ditaba Lucy Maraka Mr Itani Elias Mashau • Ms Lerato Mothae • Mr Norman Baloyi • Dr Afred Kgasi • Prof Johanna Meyer • Ms Mandisa Skhosana • Prof Yahya Choonara • Dr Zinhle Makatini CEO: Dr Boitumelo Semete-Makokotlela